Monday, October 7, 2013

30 Days of Night: Dark Days



I've never been more dissapointed in a sequel
I love 30 days of night. Everything about it. I've read all of the comics, and really enjoyed the first film. Though there was a difference between the first film and the first set of comics, the first film effectively relayed the horror, and creepiness the comics had. The visuals where stunning and disturbing and the acting was brilliant.
When the sequel Dark Days was announced...I was immediately excited. I anxiously followed the production news and pre-ordered the DVD months in advance from my local DVD store. It arrived yesterday. First thing..if you think the DVD cover is poorly designed by looking at the picture on Amazon...wait until you see this turd in real life. It looks like a high school kids photo shop project. But like books movies should not be judged by the cover.
30 Days of Night: Night Dark Days starts out similar to the graphic novels, save for the fact that in this dvd the best looking scenes in the beginning are taken from the original movie and...

terrible... just terrible
I LOVED 30 Days of Night... this movie however is just terrible. It's bland, generic, predictable and just not good in any way in my opinion.
Seriously I predicted the entire Dane thing and Eben thing by the end of the opening credits.

It may be faithful to the second graphic novel, I don't know I didn't read it. I understand it was a smaller budget film but this was just inexcusably bad. the writing, the dialogue, all of it.

I'm actually disappointed that I could have bought the original on blu-ray for less than I paid for this. it's like they tried to frankenstein together "30 days of night", "Daybreakers" and "Blade trinity" into a coherent storyline using the cheapest actors they could find and get them to play characters that always make the worst decision possible.

Save your money, watch it online before you buy it and I don't see how this is getting 5-star reviews but clearly those reviewers saw something worthwhile I did not.

Waste of money!!!!
What a waste of 92 minutes! I've been awaiting the release of this sequel since i viewed the first. I loved 30 Days of Night, but Dark Days was such a disappointment. I'm not even sure why "30 Days of Night" was in the title. This movie was like a very bad cross between Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Blade. The vampires didn't look the same, and regular bullets could fatally wound them. The story line made no sense and the end... well even more stupid. If you must watch this movie please don't purchase. RENT!!!!

Click to Editorial Reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment